Leslie Kressin Wins Top Honors at 2nd Annual Fostering our Future Awards


Yorkville Educational Foundation (YEF) recently held its annual “Fostering our Future” Awards, which recognizes exemplary achievements in District 115 at a community-wide celebration. The event, held at the Kendall County Fairgrounds, drew more than 200 people including community members, business leaders, alumni, donors, District 115 staff and parents.

The Foundation presented awards in eight categories, including the prestigious “Golden Fox Award”, which honors the employee of the year at District 115. This year, Leslie Kressin, 3rd grade teacher at Circle Center Grade School was selected for this top honor. “Leslie’s energy and devotion to designing thoughtful, engaging learning experiences motivates her students to grow and to independently demonstrate their learning. She is excited, creative, and tireless,” says her colleague Jennifer Waldvogel.

Other winners honored include: Stephanie Prentice, 3 rd Grade Teacher for “Rookie of the Year”, Mickey Nauman, Business Teacher for “Educator of the Year (Grades 7-12)”, Robin Owens, Library Paraprofessional for “Non-Certified Employee of the Year”, Josh Slavin and Timeout4Kids for “Partner of the Year”, Sherri Farley and Melissa Wojowski for the YHS Field Experience Program, and Shawn Harris for “Spirit of the Fox” award.

Since 2017, Yorkville Educational Foundation has invested more than $15,000 in the District 115 community. The Foundation helps bridge the gap between the tax-supported budget and the programs needed to help students succeed. The Foundation prioritizes educational opportunities that focus on equity, innovation and collaboration for all Yorkville CUSD 115 students and staff. Its all-volunteer Board is comprised of parents, alumni and business owners invested in the success of the community.